WHY MEN HATE ME BECAUSE I AM SO HANDSOME

There has been a great deal of negative feedback to Samantha Brick’s Daily Mail article “Why Women Hate Me For Being Beautiful”. I don’t understand why. I completely empathise with Samantha’s plight, for I too have the burden of incredible attractiveness to bear.

I’ll give you an example. On a recent bus journey from Brent Cross Shopping Centre to Oxford Street, an elderly lady offered me a Cherry Fizz bomb. You’re probably thinking ‘what a lovely surprise’. But while it was lovely, it wasn’t a surprise. At least, not for me.

Throughout my adult life, I’ve regularly had bottles of Lemon Fanta or Tizer thrust into my hand by women I don’t know. Once, whilst I was waiting to pay for petrol, a well-dressed woman bought me scratchcard. On another occasion a lovely lady paid my fare as I got off the tube at Clapham Junction. (Although in hindsight she might have accidentally swiped her Oyster card twice). Another time I was tapped on the shoulder and presented with a beautiful bunch of flowers. I left that cemetery in such a good mood. Even bar tenders frequently shoo me away. And whenever I ask what I’ve done to deserve such treatment, these people always say; “It’s because you’re well handsome.”

Whilst the annoyance of being mistaken for George Clooney, Brad Pitt or a young Jack Whitehall is over-bearing at times, I know how lucky I am. But there are downsides to being this incredible attractive – men hate me for no other reason than my breath-taking appearance. If you’re a man reading this, you’re probably really jealous. If you’re a woman reading this, you’re probably a tad moist. However this wonderfulness comes with a price. I am often overlooked for television work. I’ve regularly been turned down for quiz shows and stand-up shows so as not to make the other comedians/panelists look ugly. It’s hard to accept sometimes, but I do understand.

I’ve twice been asked to be Best Man at weddings and on both occasions I was asked not to look too good. I tried my best; after all it was their day. But the fact I stood out as a shining beacon in every photo is not my fault.

You’d think we men would applaud each other for taking pride in our appearances. I drink loads, I eat a lot, I don’t go to the gym even when I want to. Yet nothing I do can affect my natural attractiveness which is why all my male friends see me as a threat and rarely ask me to go out with them – even the ones who are fairly attractive (not comparatively obviously).

So I completely understand and sympathise with Samantha Brick’s plight, and I’m hoping, praying, that sometime in the future my looks will fade and that I will eventually understand what it’s like to be a ‘plain’, ‘normal’ bloke. But until then, I will have to continue living with my affliction. Please don’t hate me for it. Just understand that my incredible beauty is as much a curse as it is a blessing.

 

About Bennett Arron

Stand-Up Comedian, Award-Winning Writer, Presenter, BAFTA-Shortlisted Director, Identity Theft Expert, ex Disco Dancer. "Genuinely original and funny" The Times "Hilarious... clever wit... razor sharp" The Standard "A Welsh Seinfeld" The Guardian
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WHY MEN HATE ME BECAUSE I AM SO HANDSOME

  1. Martin says:

    Dear Bennett,

    I was one of the ladies who once thrust a bottle of Tizer into your hand, unfortunately you were so busy combing your hair that you didn’t hear me say “Excuse me, I am a mere lady and this lid is too tight, could you please loosen it with your manly grip”. This means you owe me 90p but I will settle for a kiss

  2. Martin says:

    OK. A kiss with no tongues

  3. Pingback: comics varia and stuffs that might make laugh only me | Pearltrees

Leave a Reply

