Olivia Newton-John – Hopelessly Devoted

A woman I never met has passed away. And I feel devastated. 

When I was a teenager, I saw the film Grease for the first time. To say it changed my life is not an exaggeration. Until then I had been a short, fairly unpopular boy in school. Although I remained short, through watching Grease I discovered I had an ability to dance, albeit a limited ability which helped me to become slightly more popular – with girls anyway.

I knew, and still know, every move to Greased LightningSummer NightsYou’re The One That I Want etc. But not only did that film open my eyes to dancing, it also gave me my first ever crush. A crush that lasted to this day. 

Olivia Newton-John was the most beautiful woman I had ever seen. And she wasn’t much older than me!! (Yes, it was only later I discovered she was actually 29 at the time! Not that it mattered of course.)

I loved Grease. However, although I have seen it over 30 times, it was only on the last viewing that I realised what the moral of the film actually is. The moral is; don’t be yourself but change for the other person – if you’re a woman. Because, by the end of the film, Sandy (Olivia’s character) had changed from being a demure, virginal young girl to a woman who smokes, put on loads of make-up and wears tight leather trousers. To be fair Danny (John Travolta’s character) also changed, in so much as he wore a brand new cardy. 

But from the moment I saw that film I was besotted. I bought every Olivia Newton-John album and every available poster. Over the years I saw every film in which she appeared, including Xanadu of course and the re teaming with John Travolta in Two of A Kind. This wasn’t the best of movies to be honest, but it didn’t matter. Olivia was in it. And the track “Twist of Fate” from the film was great. In addition to this, every year, on 26th September, I would send a birthday card to her agent in the US and asked for it to be passed on to Olivia. (I won’t say at what age I stopped doing this, but suffice to say it went on a little longer than you’d expect!)

I used to have this teenage fantasy that one day there’d be a knock on my door and Olivia would be there. Her car had broken down and she wanted to know if she could use our phone. I of course allowed her to use the phone and from that moment on we’d become great friends. (This teenage fantasy had a few more elements than that, but I’m not prepared to share those details). Of course, logically, the chances of her driving herself back to Los Angeles, via Port Talbot, were pretty slim. But teenage fantasies defy logic. 

My last show at the Edinburgh festival in 2018 was called “I’ve Never Told Anyone This”and it was basically a love letter to Olivia Newton-John. I spoke about the crush I’d had on her and showed a letter I’d written to my future self, which had been part of my English lesson homework, in which I spoke about what would probably happen to me by the time I was 30. One of these predictions was that Olivia and I would be married. I also assumed that I’d have a flying car – which, in retrospect, was just as unlikely. 

I had initially called my romantic comedy novel Hopelessly Devoted. However, my then agent thought it wasn’t right, so I went with The Girl From the Discotheque* instead. I sort of wish I had stuck with my first idea. 

I always thought Olivia and I would have got in well. Especially as we actually had quite a lot in common. I’m Jewish and Welsh, and she has a Jewish and Welsh ancestry. Her dad was from Cardiff and her maternal grandfather was the Jewish Nobel prize-winning physicist Max Born who had fled to Britain from Germany just before World War II to escape the Nazis. I wanted to chat to her about all this when I eventually met her. And I was convinced that would happen one day. To know that this will now never happen is really sad.

I always promised myself that, if she ever toured in this country, I would go and see her. In 2013 she performed at a concert in the Royal Albert Hall. However, no one would go with me and I didn’t want to go on my own. I regreted not going then and I regret it so much more now. 

So rest in peace Olivia. You were the one that I wanted and I honestly loved you. 

 

*The Girl From The Discotheque is available to buy here. 20% of all sales goes to Alzheimer’s Research 

www.bennettarron.com

About Bennett Arron

Stand-Up Comedian, Award-Winning Writer, TV & Radio Presenter, BAFTA-Shortlisted Director, Author and Identity Theft Speaker "A Welsh Seinfeld" The Guardian "Genuinely original and funny" The Times "Hilarious... clever wit... razor sharp" The Standard
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment